Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü




Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Primary data.

Order Dataset

Print View

Researchers

Name
Klauer, Karl Josef
Willmes, Klaus
Phye, Gary D.

Top

Dataset Information

Title Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Primary data.
Original Title Die Induzierung induktiven Denkens: Besteht ein Transfer zur fluiden Intelligenz? Primrdaten.
Citation Klauer, K.J., Willmes, K., & Phye, G.D. (2004). Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Primary data. [Translated Title] (Version 1) [Files on CD-ROM]. Trier: Center for Research Data in Psychology: PsychData of the Leibniz Institute for Psychology Information ZPID. https://doi.org/10.5160/psychdata.krkl98in08
Language of variable documentation German/English
Responsible for Data Collection Klauer, Karl Josef
Data Collection Completion Date 1998
Dataset Publication 2004
Dataset ID krkl98in08
Study Description K. J. Klauer developed a theory of inductive reasoning, which specifies the processes by which inductive problems can be solved. This theory thus defines the tasks or problems that are of an inductive nature. It can be shown that many intelligence tests, particularly those that capture fluid intelligence, involve inductive tasks.
In the presented study the aim was to examine whether the training of inductive reasoning skills promotes the intellectual competence rather than just the performance. The issue of convergent and discriminant validity of the training were also considered, that is, determining whether the training not only affected fluid but also crystallized intelligence sensu Cattell.
The database should be sufficiently large and suitable enough to represent the expected differential causal influence using a structural equation model (LISREL). It was experimentally confirmed that changes are due to the training. However, with use of the LISREL, it should also be clarified whether the paths turn out as expected.
Hypotheses A specific training of inductive reasoning only improves inductive reasoning, but has no impact on the performance in tests that contain other cognitive processes. A specific training of inductive reasoning not only improves performance immediately after training, but also has positive longterm effects on inductive competence.
Keyphrase prescriptive theory of inductive reasoning, fluid intelligence & crystallized intelligence, training program, treatment group vs control group, 279 children, three measurement points, primary data
Funding Institute's financial resources
Rating Drawn from the test data, the reliabilities are taken from the data provided by the test authors. For the present sample, the retest reliabilities can easily be determined, either separately or together, for both the training group and the control group. The factorial validity of the tests is proven (see manuals). In addition, these have been confirmed for the present sample by the LISREL-analysis (Klauer, Willmes, and Phye; 2002).

Top

PSYNDEX Classification and Controlled Terms

Classification Tests & Testing
Cognitive Processes
Cognitive & Perceptual Development
Educational Psychology
Controlled Terms Inductive Deductive Reasoning
Intelligence
Intelligence Measures
Data Collection

Top

Research Method Description

Research Method Description Test Data
Classification of Data Collection Quasi-experimental design, mixed design, field experiment
Research Instrument The study involved 6 primary schools that had exactly 2 1st grade classes. Within these schools, one class each was chosen randomly to be the training class while the other class served as the control class. The pretests were conducted a week before the start of training. Measures included an intelligence test (Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1, Weiss and Osterland; 1980), the Colored Progressive Matrices (CPM, Schmidtke, Schaller and Becker; 1980), and a vocabulary test for 1st graders (Kamratowski and Kamratowski; 1969).
The intervention phase lasted 5 weeks. While the control groups had normal class lesson, the experimental groups were trained twice a week for 1 hour. Conducted in a separate room, the training took place in small groups of 3-5 children. 2 experienced psychologists (institute staff) conducted the training.
The Posttest 1 was conducted within 2 weeks posttraining (basic intelligence test, CPM, vocabulary test for 1st-graders), the Posttest 2 was conducted 6 months later (basic intelligence test). All tests were conducted in class.
Classes were randomly assigned to either the experimental or the control group.
Data Collection Method Data collection in the presence of an experimenter
- Group Administration
- Paper and Pencil
Time Points repeated measurements
Survey Time Period Review of a longitudinal intervention:
Pretest: September 1997
Training: Semptember 1997-November 1997
Posttest 1: November 1997
Posttest 2: April 1998
Characteristics -
Population Elementary school children
Experimental Pool Individuals
Sample The study involved 6 primary schools that had exactly 2 1st grade classes and were willing to participate in the project. Within these schools, one class each was randomly chosen to be the training class while the other class served as the control class.
Subject Recruitment The study involved 6 primary schools that had exactly 2 1st grade classes and were willing to participate in the project. All students were included in the survey.
Sample Size 279 Individuals
Return/Drop Out The data involve 279 subjects who participated in the Pre- and Posttest 1. For Posttest 2, which was collected 6 months following graduation to the next grade level, only 219 children were retested.
Gender Distribution 49,0% female Probanden
51,0% male Probanden
Age Distribution 7 years, 1 month (median)
Special Groups Elementary school children
Country Germany
Region Nordrhein-Westfalen
City Greater Aachen
Variables Independent variable: experimental vs control group
Dependent variable: Colored Progressive Matrices of Schmidtke, Schaller and Becker (1980)
Dependent variable: intelligence test (Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Scale 1; 1980) of Weiss and Osterland
Dependent variable: vocabulary test for 1st graders (Kamratowski and Kamratowski; 1969)

Top

Data Status

Data Status Complete Data Set
Original Records Questionnaire filled out by either the subject or the experimenter containing closed and/or open answers
Transformation Complex encoding rules for the respective test manuals: Based on the information provided by the study participants, the relevant scales of a vocabulary test, the CFT 1 Scale 1 (a basic intelligence test), and the Raven's Progressive Matrices were used as pretest and posttest. Additionally, values were determined by applying a random distribution of the tests. This matrix is provided. In addition to the overall test scores, the values of the noninductive and inductive subtests of the CFT 1 Scale were determined separately. This matrix is also provided. No data were recorded at the item level.

Top

Description of the Provided Data

Description Values of the vocabulary test, the basic intelligence test CFT 1 Scale 1, and Raven's Progressive Matrices test (each as a total value and a randomly distributed test) for the pre- and posttest 1 of both the experimental and the control group
File Name krkl98in08_pd1.txt
Data Content 279 subjects, 19 variables
Data Points 279*19=5301 data points
Variables Coding of the experimental vs control group (1), results of the Raven's Matrices when divided randomly into 2 parts at pretest (2), overall results of Raven's matrices tests at pretest (1), results of the basic intelligence test CFT 1 Scale 1 when divided randomly into 2 parts at pretest (2), overall results of the intelligence test CFT 1 Scale 1 at pretest (1), results of the vocabulary tests for 1st-graders when randomly divided into 2 parts at pretest (2), overall results of the vocabulary tests for 1st-graders at pretest (1), results of the Raven's Matrices tests when divided randomly into 2 parts at posttest 1 (2), overall results of Raven's Matrices tests at posttest 1 (1), results of the basic intelligence tests CFT 1 Scale 1 when divided randomly into 2 parts at posttest 1 (2), overall results of the intelligence test CFT 1 Scale 1 at posttest 1 (1), results of the vocabulary tests for 1st-graders when divided randomly into 2 parts at posttest 1 (2), overall results of the vocabulary tests for 1st-graders at posttest 1 (1)
MD5 Hash 41da91047a69967722141d8788166146
  
Description Results of the basic intelligence test CFT 1 Scale 1 (overall results and results when divided into inductive and noninductive subtests) for both the experimental and control groups at pretest, posttest 1, and posttest 2
File Name krkl98in08_pd2.txt
Data Content 219 subjects, 10 variables
Data Points 219*10=2190 data points
Variables Coding of the experimental vs control group (1), results of the basic intelligence tests CFT 1 Scale 1 in the noninductive subtests at pretest, posttest 1, and posttest 2 (3), results of the basic intelligence tests CFT 1 Scale 1 in the inductive subtests at pretest, posttest 1, and posttest 2 (3), overall results of the basic intelligence tests CFT 1 scale 1 at pretest, posttest 1, and posttest 2 (3)
MD5 Hash 650715df59a353a2ff8f684348d0f45e
  

Top

Description of Additional Materials

Description File Name
German codebook of primary data set krkl98in08_pd1.txt krkl98in08_kb1.txt
German codebook of primary data set krkl98in08_pd2.txt krkl98im08_kb2.txt

Top

Publications Directly Related to the Dataset

Publications Directly Related to the Dataset
Klauer, K. J., Willmes, K. & Phye, G. D. (2002). Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Contemporary Educational Psychology, 27, 1-25.Datensatz 0156732

Top

Utilized Test Methods

Utilized Test Methods
Kamratowski, J. & Kamratowski, J. (1969). Wortschatztest fr Schulanfnger WSS 1. Weinheim: Beltz.Datensatz 9000567
Schmidtke, A., Schaller, S. & Becker, P. (1980). CPM Raven-Matrizen-Test. Weinheim: Beltz.
Weiss, R. & Osterland, J. (1980). Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1. Braunschweig: Westermann.

Top

Further Reading

Further Reading
Klauer, K. J. (2001). Training des induktiven Denkens. In K. J. Klauer (Hrsg.), Handbuch Kognitives Training (S. 165-209). Gttingen: Hogrefe.Datensatz 0144283

Top

Order Dataset


Address

Leibniz Institute for Psychology Information
Universitätsring 15,
Center for Research Data in Psychology
54296 Trier, Germany
Phone: +49 (0)651 201-2062
Fax: +49 (0)651 201-2071


Directions to ZPID


Kontakt und Funktionen

Navigation

Service-Menü

Hauptmenü




Die Induzierung induktiven Denkens: Besteht ein Transfer zur fluiden Intelligenz? Primärdaten.

Daten bestellen

Druckansicht des Datensatzes

Forschende

Name
Klauer, Karl Josef
Willmes, Klaus
Phye, Gary D.

Top

Informationen zum Datensatz

Titel Die Induzierung induktiven Denkens: Besteht ein Transfer zur fluiden Intelligenz? Primärdaten.
Titel, englisch Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Primary data.
Zitation Klauer, K.J., Willmes, K., & Phye, G.D. (2004). Die Induzierung induktiven Denkens: Besteht ein Transfer zur fluiden Intelligenz? Primärdaten. (Version 1) [Files auf CD-ROM]. Trier: Psychologisches Datenarchiv PsychData des Leibniz-Zentrums für Psychologische Information und Dokumentation ZPID. https://doi.org/10.5160/psychdata.krkl98in08
Sprache der Variablendokumentation Deutsch/Englisch
Verantwortlichkeit für die Datenerhebung Klauer, Karl Josef
Ende der Erhebung 1998
Veröffentlichung des Datensatzes 2004
Datensatz ID krkl98in08
Studienbeschreibung K. J. Klauer hat eine Theorie des induktiven Denkens entwickelt, die die Prozesse präzisiert, mit deren Hilfe induktive Probleme gelöst werden können. Damit legt die Theorie zugleich fest, welche Aufgaben oder Probleme induktiver Natur sind. Es lässt sich zeigen, dass viele Intelligenztests, insbesondere solche, die die fluide Intelligenz erfassen, induktive Aufgaben erhalten.
Im vorliegenden Fall ging es darum zu prüfen, ob das Training des induktiven Denkens die intellektuelle Kompetenz statt nur die Performanz fördert. Außerdem ging es um die Frage der konvergenten und diskriminanten Validität des Trainings, das heißt ob das Training nur die fluide oder auch die kristallisierte Intelligenz sensu Cattell beeinflusst.
Die Datenbasis sollte hinreichend groß und geeignet sein, um mit Hilfe eines Strukturgleichungsmodells (LISREL) den erwarteten differentiellen Kausaleinfluss darzustellen. Experimentell war ja gesichert, dass Änderungen auf das Training zurückzuführen sind; mittels LISREL sollte aber geklärt werden, ob auch die Pfade erwartungsgemäß ausfallen.
Studienbeschreibung, englisch K. J. Klauer developed a theory of inductive reasoning, which specifies the processes by which inductive problems can be solved. This theory thus defines the tasks or problems that are of an inductive nature. It can be shown that many intelligence tests, particularly those that capture fluid intelligence, involve inductive tasks.
In the presented study the aim was to examine whether the training of inductive reasoning skills promotes the intellectual competence rather than just the performance. The issue of convergent and discriminant validity of the training were also considered, that is, determining whether the training not only affected fluid but also crystallized intelligence sensu Cattell.
The database should be sufficiently large and suitable enough to represent the expected differential causal influence using a structural equation model (LISREL). It was experimentally confirmed that changes are due to the training. However, with use of the LISREL, it should also be clarified whether the paths turn out as expected.
Hypothesen Ein Training des induktiven Denkens fördert allein induktives Denken, wirkt sich aber nicht auf die Leistung in Tests aus, die andere kognitive Prozesse ansprechen.
Ein Training des induktiven Denkens fördert nicht nur die Performanz unmittelbar nach Trainingsende, sondern wirkt sich auch langfristig positiv auf die induktive Kompetenz aus.
Keyphrase prescriptive theory of inductive reasoning, fluid intelligence & crystallized intelligence, training program, treatment group vs control group, 279 children, three measurement points, primary data
Förderung Institutsmittel
Güte Es handelt sich um Testdaten. Die Reliabilitäten sind den Angaben der Testautoren zu entnehmen. Für die vorliegende Stichprobe lassen sich die Retestreliabilitäten an Hand der Dateien für die Trainingsgruppe und die Kontrollgruppe getrennt oder für beide gemeinsam leicht bestimmen.
Die faktorielle Validität der Tests ist nachgewiese (siehe Handbücher). Außerdem wird sie für die vorliegende Stichprobe durch die LISREL-Analyse in Klauer, Willmes und Phye (2002) bestätigt.

Top

PSYNDEX Klassifikation & Schlagwörter

Klassifikation, deutsch Tests und Testen
Kognitive Prozesse
Kognitive Entwicklung und Wahrnehmungsentwicklung
Pädagogische Psychologie
Klassifikation, englisch Tests & Testing
Cognitive Processes
Cognitive & Perceptual Development
Educational Psychology
Schlagwörter, deutsch Induktiv-deduktives logisches Denken
Intelligenz
Intelligenztests
Datensammlung
Schlagwörter, englisch Inductive Deductive Reasoning
Intelligence
Intelligence Measures
Data Collection

Top

Beschreibung der Methode

Forschungsform Experimentaldaten
Klassifikation der Erhebung Quasiexperimentelles Design, Gemischtes Design, Feldexperiment
Erhebungsinstrument In der Untersuchung wurden sechs Grundschulen berücksichtigt, die genau zwei erste Klassen hatten. Innerhalb der Grundschulen wurde je eine Klasse per Zufall als Trainingsklasse bestimmt, während die zweite Klasse als Kontrollklasse fungierte.
Die Prätests wurden eine Woche vor Beginn des Trainings erhoben. Verwendet wurden der Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1 von Weiss und Osterland (1980), der Raven-Matrizen-Test CPM von Schmidtke, Schaller und Becker (1980) und der Wortschatztest für Schulanfänger von Kamratowski und Kamratowski (1969).
Die Interventionsphase dauerte 5 Wochen. Für die Kontrollgruppe war dies ganz regulärer Unterricht. Für die Experimentalgruppe ebenfalls; allerdings wurden in der Experimentalgruppe die Kinder zweimal pro Woche für je eine Stunde aus dem Unterricht herausgenommen und trainiert. Das Training fand in kleinen Gruppen zu 3-5 Kindern statt und wurde in einem separaten Raum durchgeführt. Trainerinnen waren zwei erfahrene Psychologinnen (Mitarbeiterinnen des Instituts).
Der Posttest 1 wurde innerhalb von zwei Wochen nach Abschluss des Trainings erhoben (Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1, Raven-Matrizen-Test, Wortschatztest für Schulanfänger), der Posttest 2 sechs Monate später (Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1). Alle Tests wurden klassenweise erhoben.
Zuweisung der Schulklassen zur Experimental- und Kontrollgruppe erfolgte nach Zufall.
Datenerhebungsmethode Erhebung in Anwesenheit eines Versuchsleiters
- Gruppenvorgabe
- Papier und Bleistift
Zeitdimension mehrmalige Erhebung
Erhebungszeitraum Überprüfung einer Intervention im längsschnittlichen Design:
Prätest: 1997-09
Training: 1997-09 bis 1997-11
Posttest 1: 1997-11
Posttest 2: 1998-04
Besonderheiten -
Population Kinder im Grundschulalter
Untersuchungseinheit Individuen
Stichprobe Sechs Grundschulen wurden ermittelt, die genau zwei erste Klassen hatten und bereit waren, an dem Projekt teilzunehmen. Innerhalb der Grundschulen wurde je eine Klasse per Zufall als Trainingsklasse bestimmt, während die zweite Klasse dann als Kontrollklasse fungierte
Probandenrekrutierung Sechs Grundschulen wurden ermittelt, die genau zwei erste Klassen hatten und bereit waren, an dem Projekt teilzunehmen. Alle Schüler dieser Klassen wurden in der Erhebung berücksichtigt.
Stichprobengröße 279 Individuen
Rücklauf/ Ausfall Die Daten beziehen sich auf die 279 Probanden, die am Prätest sowie am Posttest 1 teilgenommen haben. Zum Posttest 2, der ein halbes Jahr später nach dem Schuljahrswechsel erhoben wurde, konnten nur 219 Kinder erneut getestet werden.
Geschlechtsverteilung 49,0% weibliche Probanden
51,0% männliche Probanden
Altersverteilung 7 Jahre; 1 Monat (Median)
Sondergruppen Grundschüler
Land Deutschland
Region Nordrhein-Westfalen
Stadt Region Aachen
Variablen Unabhängige Variable: Experimental- vs. Kontrollgruppe
Abhängige Variable: Raven-Matrizen-Test von Schmidtke, Schaller & Becker (1980)
Abhängige Variable: Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1 von Weiss & Osterland (1980)
Abhängige Variable: Wortschatztest für Schulanfänger von Kamratowski & Kamratowski (1969)

Top

Datenstatus

Datenstatus Vollständiger Datensatz
Ursprungsaufzeichnungen Von Vp oder VL ausgefüllte Fragebogen mit geschlossenen und/oder offenen Antworten
Verarbeitung Komplexe Kodierungsvorschrift nach den jeweiligen Testmanualen:
Auf Basis der Angaben der Versuchsteilnehmer wurden zum Prätest und Posttest 1 alle relevanten Skalenwerte der drei verwendeten Testverfahren Wortschatztest, Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1 und Raven-Matrizen-Test berechnet. Zusätzlich wurden Kennwerte bei Zufallsaufteilung der Tests ermittelt. Diese Matrix wird bereitgestellt. Hinsichtlich des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 wurden zum Prätest, Posttest 1 und Posttest 2 neben den Gesamttestwerten auch die Kennwerte für nicht-induktive und induktive Subtests gesondert ermittelt. Die Matrix mit diesen Angaben wird ebenfalls bereitgestellt.
Auf Itemebene wurden keine Daten festgehalten.

Top

Beschreibung der bereitgestellten Daten

Beschreibung Werte der verwendeten Testverfahren Wortschatztest, Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1 und Raven-Matrizen-Test (jeweils als Gesamtwert und bei Zufallsteilung des Verfahrens) für Experimental- und Kontrollgruppe zum Prätest und Posttest 1
Dateiname krkl98in08_pd1.txt
Inhalt 279 Probanden, 19 Variablen
Datenpunkte 279*19=5301 Datenpunkte
Variablen Kodierung der Zugehörigkeit zur Experimental- vs. Kontrollgruppe (1), Werte des Raven-Matrizen-Tests bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Prätest (2), Gesamtwert des Raven-Matrizen-Tests im Prätest (1), Werte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Prätest (2), Gesamtwert des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 im Prätest (1), Werte des Wortschatztests für Schulanfänger bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Prätest (2), Gesamtwert des Wortschatztests für Schulanfänger im Prätest (1), Werte des Raven-Matrizen-Tests bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Posttest 1 (2), Gesamtwert des Raven-Matrizen-Tests im Posttest 1 (1), Werte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Posttest 1 (2), Gesamtwert des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 im Posttest 1 (1), Werte des Wortschatztests für Schulanfänger bei Aufteilung des Tests nach Zufall in zwei Teile im Posttest 1 (2), Gesamtwert des Wortschatztests für Schulanfänger im Posttest 1 (1)
MD5 Hash 41da91047a69967722141d8788166146
  
Beschreibung Werte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 (als Gesamtwert und bei Aufteilung des Verfahrens in induktive und nicht-induktive Subtests) für Experimental- und Kontrollgruppe zum Prätest, Posttest 1 und Posttest 2)
Dateiname krkl98in08_pd2.txt
Inhalt 219 Probanden, 10 Variablen
Datenpunkte 219*10=2190 Datenpunkte
Variablen Kodierung der Zugehörigkeit zur Experimental- vs. Kontrollgruppe (1), Werte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 in den nicht-induktiven Subtests zum Prätest, Posttest 1 und Posttest 2 (3), Werte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 in den induktiven Subtests zum Prätest, Posttest 1 und Posttest 2 (3), Gesamtwerte des Grundintelligenztests CFT 1 Skala 1 zum Prätest, Posttest 1 und Posttest 2 (3)
MD5 Hash 650715df59a353a2ff8f684348d0f45e
  

Top

Beschreibung der sonstigen Materialien

Beschreibung Dateiname
Deutsches Kodebuch zum Primärdatenfile krkl98in08_pd1.txt krkl98in08_kb1.txt
Deutsches Kodebuch zum Primärdatenfile krkl98in08_pd2.txt krkl98im08_kb2.txt

Top

Unmittelbar auf den Datensatz bezogene Veröffentlichungen

Unmittelbar auf den Datensatz bezogene Veröffentlichungen
Klauer, K. J., Willmes, K. & Phye, G. D. (2002). Inducing inductive reasoning: Does it transfer to fluid intelligence? Contemporary Educational Psychology, 27, 1-25.Datensatz 0156732

Top

Eingesetzte Testverfahren

Eingesetzte Testverfahren
Kamratowski, J. & Kamratowski, J. (1969). Wortschatztest für Schulanfänger WSS 1. Weinheim: Beltz.Datensatz 9000567
Schmidtke, A., Schaller, S. & Becker, P. (1980). CPM Raven-Matrizen-Test. Weinheim: Beltz.
Weiss, R. & Osterland, J. (1980). Grundintelligenztest CFT 1 Skala 1. Braunschweig: Westermann.

Top

Weiterführende Literatur

Weiterführende Literatur
Klauer, K. J. (2001). Training des induktiven Denkens. In K. J. Klauer (Hrsg.), Handbuch Kognitives Training (S. 165-209). Göttingen: Hogrefe.Datensatz 0144283

Top

Daten bestellen



Weitere Informationen

Leibniz-Zentrum für Psychologische Information und Dokumentation (ZPID)
Forschungsdatenzentrum für die Psychologie
Universitätsring 15
54296 Trier
Telefon: +49 (0)651 201-2062
Fax: +49 (0)651 201-2071



http://www.zpid.de

Anfahrtspläne


Kontakt und Funktionen